Technology Integration in a Community of Practice- CEP 812 Week 5

The contexts in which we teach, the social economical status of our school district and the availability of technological resources, the support and training we have for those resources, and social pressures of ‘how things are or have been done around here’ are all factors that influence how we integrate technology into our teaching (Frank, Zhao & Borman, 2004). Therefore, this week in CEP 812, I researched how technology is integrated into my own community of practice (Lave & Wenger, 1991). I did this through the creation and data analysis of a survey.

“In order to improve my own technology integration in the classroom, it’s important to have an understanding of how those around me incorporate technology. Other teachers in my school district are my mentors. So, the observations I make from their teaching practices can only benefit my own.”

First I created and sent a survey to the colleagues with whom I work the closest with in my school district. (I am part of a couple of different departments within my school; I am part of the secondary music department as a choir teacher and also the computer department as a middle school computer teacher). Next, I analyzed the data that was received with the intention of answering the following questions:

  • How are my colleagues currently using technology?
  • What type(s) of professional development would be most useful for improving the integration of technology in my school district?
  • Overall, how would my colleagues like to change their current technology integration practices? What change(s), if any, must occur to be successful technology integrators in the classroom?

Here are the results of my survey.

Here are my survey results using Piktochart

Survey Results on Technology Integration in a Community of Practice Copy

 

References

Borg, M. (2004). The apprenticeship of observation. ELT Journal, 58(3), 274-276. Retrieved from http://eltj.oxfordjournals.org/content/58/3/274.full.pdf

Lave, J. & Wenger, E. (1991). Situated learning: Legitimate peripheral participation. New York: Cambridge University Press.

Leave a comment